Council Composition and Organisation

As per Section 3 (1) of the Act, the Council is to consist of six registered persons, two professionals in the service of the State, and two members of the public. The current Council members are as follows:


Barend Smit President
Thabo Munyai Vice President
Abbigail El Mohammadi - Resigned 28 March 2015
Neal Dunstan - Replacement from 11 May 2015
Finance Committee Chair
Amanda Du Plooy Registration Committee Chair
Ilham Gabier Council Member
Cenette Dippenaar - Resigned on 4 November 2014
Frans van Wyk - Replacement from January 2014
Education Committee Chair
Academic Forum Chair

Public Representatives:

Sigwili Bright Mhlongo - Resigned 9 February 2015
Eugene Hlongwane - Replacement from 8 April 2015
Council Member
Gregory Mofokeng Council Member

State Representatives:

Gerrit Strydom Professional Practice Committee Chair
Pieter Ackerman - Resigned 11 July 2014 (was not replaced)

Back row L – R:Pieter Ackerman (Resigned), Bernadette Vollmer (Registrar), Bright Mhlongo, Gerrit Strydom,Cenette Dippenaar (Resigned),Gregory Mofokeng, Abbigail El Mohammadi, Amanda du Plooy, Ilham Gabier

Front row L – R : Barend Smit (President), Jeremy Cronin (Deputy Minister : Public Works),Thabo Munyai (Vice President)